Web Design Quote is a Scam

By now I assume most or all of you are familiar with the Nigeria scams where you will get thousands but just pay a fraction of that up front. And most of you are wise enough not to fall for it. But here is a variation on it for web designers to be aware of. I got this email yesterday with the subject line, “ATTN Web Design needed”:

Good Day
I’m Jerry,am hearing impaired.i would love to know if you can handle website design for a new company and also if you do you accept credit cards ?? kindly get back to me ASAP so i can send you the job details.

Jerry ford

Seemed reasonable but before responding, I thought I’d do a bit of sleuthing so I Googled the subject line. Sure enough, others had already responded enough to see it was a scam. (See this well researched article: http://blog.ihenix.com/nearly-got-scammed/).

I won’t go through all the processes used since the above linked article covers that very well, but to save others from replying and getting hopeful after submitting a proposal to scammers, don’t bother with these. Apparently they are targeting other industries as well (photographers, graphic designers, etc).

On my email they put the cc’s for other web designers in the vicinity of mine so I sent a heads up to them as well. I don’t know if that was a mistake openly cc’ing other design shops or not but it seems they are focusing on regional design businesses.

So if you see a similar email whether from Jerry Ford, Witney Wharf, Jennifer Wooldridge, or a myriad of other pseudo-names, best bet is to delete it like with other Nigerian scams.

One Response to Web Design Quote is a Scam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Spam Trap: